PDA

View Full Version : Landscaping company skipping appointments

spiceboy
08-20-2013, 11:30 PM
So its my first time hiring a company to mow lawn for me. They showed up on time for the first appointment (biweekly), but since then they have been missing the marks. First couple of times they blamed it on the weather and the backlog they had. Their reply also only came after our inquiry. There was no notice about the delay, or when they decide to come next.

Is this common among landscaping companies? It has been 3 weeks since the last mow, and I want to gather all facts first before laying it on them.

Oh, they've also deposited ALL our post dated cheques. Apparently, anyone can do this at an ATM. If you try deposit them via teller, they wont let you for obvious reason. Otherwise theres nothing to stop it from happening.

RickDaTuner
08-20-2013, 11:45 PM
You're getting scammed buddy.

Landscapers can be pretty sketchy, and asking for post dated checks, then cashing them is definitely a red flag for me when it comes to dealing with those companies.

Fire them and get your local teenage dude to do the job for you. Pay him $20 bi-weekly for his hours worth of work, who knows maybe you'll start a trend and your other neighbors will do the same giving little billy a full time summer job.

heavyfuel
08-21-2013, 07:35 AM
Originally posted by RickDaTuner
You're getting scammed buddy.

Landscapers can be pretty sketchy, and asking for post dated checks, then cashing them is definitely a red flag for me when it comes to dealing with those companies.

Fire them and get your local teenage dude to do the job for you. Pay him $20 bi-weekly for his hours worth of work, who knows maybe you'll start a trend and your other neighbors will do the same giving little billy a full time summer job.