PDA

View Full Version : Starting as an electrician

max403
11-26-2013, 12:28 AM
Hello,

I am both new to Calgary and to the trade industry. To be honest I have spent years slaving away at menial jobs with little future prospect, low pay, and little to no satisfaction with the work conducted in these positions. I realized that trades are the way to go today for so many reasons so I am now ready to work an honest job that I can be proud of and one day have my red seal journeyperson certificate. After much research the trade I wish to follow is the electrician apprenticeship. Unfortunately I have no direct working experience in the role but am highly eager to learn from the bottom and work my way up. Being that I am not from here I have no clue where to look for local company willing to take on someone with no work experience and help them become a registered apprentice. Any help would be highly appreciated!

GenericUsername
11-27-2013, 09:04 PM
You'll need google maps, a stack of resumes and a way to get around.

max403
11-28-2013, 03:23 AM
That is for sure. I'm trying to round it down to maybe a half dozen companies to start off with. New to the city so I haven't bought a car as of yet so relying on public transit which is gonna make it really hard getting to all these places :s. Any idea who may be hiring new recruits at this time? Or a generally good company to work for?

HuMz
11-28-2013, 06:53 AM
It's going to come down to luck, just apply in person to them all. There is a pre employment program through sait but I would recommend dropping off resumes instead.

revelations
11-28-2013, 11:24 AM
Not to be a wet blanket, but if youre over 35 and have a list of menial jobs on your resume 10+ pages long - its going to a long road ahead to try to prove to a potential company that your worth their time.

Sure you can start at the bottom of most, pulling cable through concrete or something, but dont be surprised if it takes a few years to get noticed.