PDA

View Full Version : Garage planning and building

schurchill39
12-30-2013, 02:22 AM
I am going to be building a garage in the spring so I figured I would start a thread to keep track of progress as I go through the planning and building phase. I'm a first time home owner so I am new to this whole "lot development" thing. Hopefully with the questions and answers found here it will help other beyonders in the same boat as me.

Right now I am just busy planning and budgeting. I live in a narrow lot development area in the south so I do not have much room to work with. My lot is 25.3ft x 111.5ft and according to the Calgary city bylaws I can have up to a maximum of 60% of my lot covered based on the zoning (R-1N).

Basically, less my house, I am working with 57x25.3ft to put as big of a garage on it as possible while not completely getting rid of my yard. I have a 8foot wide deck off the back of my house so really that 57 feet is more like 42.5 ft once you account for the back apron I have to have (6.5 ft I believe)

My question for you guys right now is how big would you go? I am limited to 21 ft wide but I am considering anywhere from 26-30ft deep. Also I've heard at least 10 ft ceilings are the way to go as I'd like the option to put a lift in it later. I have two green spaces in my community so having a "big" back yard isn't much of a concern for me but I don't want to diminish my resale value by getting rid of all of it.

What are beyond's recommendations for size? What are some of the things you wish your garage had, or some things you like about your current set up that you'd like to share?

AndyL
12-30-2013, 02:55 AM
I don't think it's possible for someone on a modern city of calgary lot - to say they built their garage too big... :D As deep as the city will let you go (don't forget they deduct decks from that coverage %)

Wall to wall - you'll barely squeeze 2 cars in there with room between... So depth will be everything to you.