PDA

View Full Version : O&G career path, wages

lof
01-03-2014, 07:35 PM
Hi guys,
I’ve been working in heavy manufacturing for 6 years (project engineer) for a company that makes equipment for oil and gas sites. At the company I’m working for my job has hit a dead end both pay wise and career wise. I’m really interested in working up at Fort Mac – pay seems great, and it would be awesome to work with what I currently produce. I don't mind long hours or working outdoors and having time off longer than a 2 day weekend (even if infrequent)would be a bonus. My position puts me in contact with a number of site superintendents, project managers, etc. and would love to jump in to this with them. Would be interested in either supervisory/management position or field engineering, depending on what would be easier to get into.

I've done some pay research has given a wide range of figures, from 90K to 150K base salary. Seems like a big range – what would be a realistic target? Or somewhere outside that range? Do wages vary that much between different companies?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
lof

avishal26
01-03-2014, 09:18 PM
Out of curiosity, how much do you rake in (approx) after 6 yrs as proj. engr at a manufacturing company?

lof
01-03-2014, 10:17 PM
Less than 60k

ExtraSlow
01-03-2014, 10:34 PM
The range is wider than that. Considering you don't have a company or specific position in mind, I'd day you shouldn't expect really specific salary info.

pfis300
01-04-2014, 06:08 PM
Ehhh, depending on your qualifications - supervisor and management positions are usually hired INSIDE the company for the 75-125k range - and anything above that they are looking for 10-20 years experience in running divisions/big contracts/etc.

Look into starting at the bottom, gain a good reputation out in the field, and move up from there.

You can find good jobs that pay $80k+ with room for quick advancement if you're not a dingleberry and are a hard worker.