PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Acrobat XI - cheapest place to buy

FixedGear
01-09-2014, 09:31 AM
I've been using Acrobat 9 since like 2008, but I guess they finally stopped updating it since I get an error trying to load PDFs in Chrome, and the update won't install. So, I need to buy Acrobat XI pro. I can get it for $69 through my work. does anyone know of a cheaper source by any chance?

Thanks! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

asd913
01-09-2014, 09:59 AM
You only need to buy pro if you are making pdf's. If all you do is view pdfs, there are a lot of free pdf viewers out there (acrobat viewer, foxit, chrome itself, etc).

I own acrobat 9 pro (update says version is 9.5.5) and don't get any sort of errors opening any pdfs. Are you sure the problem is acrobat?

sputnik
01-09-2014, 10:08 AM
Unless you REALLY need to create Adobe Acrobat PDFs with features unique to Adobe I wouldn't bother.

There are lots of free PDF convertors out there. So if the only thing you are doing is converting an DOC file to PDF, use a free one. I use Bullzip myself and it works great.

http://www.techsupportalert.com/best-free-pdf-writer.htm

FixedGear
01-09-2014, 10:26 AM
Thanks for the help guys. I am a PDF power user (:rofl: ) and work with them all day long, and I do need to view and create as well as comment, highlight, etc. etc. etc. I am aware of the other applications, but would really like to stick with Adobe.

Yea I don't know what is going on with Acrobat. It works fine in standalone mode, and when I click on update, it says the software is up to date. However, if I try to open a PDF in Chrome, I get an error:

Adobe Reader was blocked because it is out of date. I then get an option to "Update plug-in..." or "Run this time."