PDA

View Full Version : How do I install this CPU water cooler?

Mar
01-23-2014, 02:36 PM
I bought this cheap one when it was on sale a couple of months ago and I'm just now installing it:
http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX48039

It's a Cooler Master and doesn't come with a lot of instructions, is this everything I need to get it going? Do I need to fill it up with something? I've never done this before and none of my friends have neither.

KRyn
01-23-2014, 02:39 PM
You purchased a self contained unit. No filling required. Just install the heat sink onto the processor (apply new supplied thermal paste) and mount the reservoir / fans as you would any other 120 mm fan. Make sure you are venting / in-taking correctly based on where you mount it.

sputnik
01-23-2014, 02:41 PM
http://www.coolermaster.com/xresserver01-DLFILE-P1307220001acf5-F13072200028e0f.html

firebane
01-23-2014, 02:55 PM
Originally posted by KRyn
You purchased a self contained unit. No filling required. Just install the heat sink onto the processor (apply new supplied thermal paste) and mount the reservoir / fans as you would any other 120 mm fan. Make sure you are venting / in-taking correctly based on where you mount it.

These should only be considered intakes if you have GOOD airflow in your case otherwise I set them as exhaust.

Mar
01-23-2014, 04:47 PM
I got it all hooked up and it's even noisier than before if that makes any sense. The case fan they supplied me sounds like a jumbo jet. Can I just replace this with another 120 millimetre fan? Also I have the fan set to suck air from the case and blow it out except the radiator is in between the fan and the case. So it's just blowing air into the radiator, is this right? Should it be sucking air off the radiator and blowing it around inside the case? I usually keep the side off my computer as I'm always messing around inside it.

firebane
01-23-2014, 05:51 PM
Originally posted by Mar