PDA

View Full Version : how important is airflow over an intercooler?

spikerS
01-25-2014, 03:06 PM
OK, so before you all jump down my throat, remember this is my first turbo'd vehicle. I still don't have a full understanding of how the turbo and CAC work together. I mean, I have a basic understanding, but I am by no means an expert.

So my question is, how important is air flow over your intercooler? In my mind, the air can really only be cooled down to ambient air temp. so how much airflow do you really need?

I ask because I really would like to put a winch bumper on my truck, but finding one that is appropriate for my truck is next to impossible as most say they are not compatible with the ecoboost because they would cover the front CAC.

So how much of the airflow can i restrict before I start seeing performance loss? or will I? or how much power loss can I expect if I pretty much block it off with a bumper?

A790
01-25-2014, 03:28 PM
The more air that flows over the intercooler the cooler the the compressed air being fed into the engine is. You don't need an intercooler for a turbo'd engine to run, but if you start limiting its effectiveness you will notice changes to how the vehicle behaves.

ExtraSlow
01-25-2014, 03:46 PM
you have to realize, when the turbo compresses the air, it's temperature goes up. so cooling it back down to ambient is a big improvement in density.

There's a reason Ford put the license plate off to the side on the ecoboost and not on the 5.0

sr20s14zenki
01-25-2014, 03:49 PM
Yep.

An air to air intercooler relies on the airflow over the fins/tubes to bring down the IATs, and believe me, it makes a big difference. On the dyno, with the fans blowing at my intercooler, one side is warm to the touch, and the cool side, is very cold. It also really depends on how OVERefficient ford designed the intercooler to be.

In a word, it wouldn't be ideal....

Tik-Tok
01-25-2014, 06:03 PM