PDA

View Full Version : Fort Mac - suitable for myself?

Dumbass17
01-29-2014, 12:58 PM
Hey guys,
So I'm currently in a position of complete downtime at my current job. I like the company and people I work with, however, I feel like maybe I should look into going to Fort Mac to make some actual dollars. I'm "single" with no house or any major commitments/ties here. I am starting to think I should say screw Calgary and get a job where I can make alot of money even if the living/social situation isn't 'ideal'. I've worked on the rigs in the past and all that stuff so I can deal with that lifestyle.
Does anyone know of any fields/paths/careers that I could start looking into?
I have a diploma in civil engineering technology from SAIT.
I have
2 years of structural drafting experience (petro chemical facilities)
4 months structural drafting experience (residential buildings)
1 year of pre-cast bridge inspection
3 years civil drafting (variety of residential developments mainly)
6 months of field work/site rep/engineer of record (inspections, reports, little bit of project management)

I can't perform alot of outdoor/manual labour type tasks as I have a very bad shoulder and well, can't really lift much of anything. So the job I can do would be something like supervisory or computer/office related.

Any suggestions? :dunno:

Neil4Speed
01-29-2014, 01:27 PM
Its really hard to say without having an idea of the position, or the pay differential that might come with going up to Ft.Mac. I know some professionals go up and get a pretty minimal premium (but with the incentive of great experience, and low/no living costs when away). You have to make that call if its worth being potentially miserable for some great years of your life.

ercchry
01-29-2014, 01:34 PM