PDA

View Full Version : Slate tile questions

johnlennon
02-18-2014, 06:12 PM
So I am planning on tiling my main floor of my house (450 sq ft-ish) and I was wondering if there is such thing as "low grade/bad" slate tile. I found some 12x12 for 1.95 sq/ft but I was warned by a supplier at another company to watch out for shitty Slate. I just dont want it chipping and falling apart down the road. I was under the impression it was all the same?

I know it is hard to work with but I have some experience tiling and I think if I take it slow I should be fine.

As for a Wet saw's, has anyone had any experience with the ghetto 100$ ones you find at cdn tire & Home depot? I know it would be nice to have the moving blade VS moving a tile but the price difference is huge. Any input is appreciated, Thanks.

blitz
02-18-2014, 07:51 PM
Slate isn't just hard to work with, slate is fucking horrible to work with. No way I would try to DIY, especially on such a large space.

Twin_Cam_Turbo
02-18-2014, 07:56 PM
In terms of wet saws, when my dad renovated his house he used a fairly cheap Home Depot one, it got the job done no problem. He did one full size bathroom, one huge ensuite bathroom, and one very large laundry/storage/mudroom in slate but he changed the blade often from what I saw.

CapnCrunch
02-19-2014, 07:42 AM
I've done lots of DIY slate with a geto $79 wet saw I got a home depot years ago. Slate isn't any harder to work with than most other tile.

The cheaper stuff usually has a lot of variable in the tile thickness which makes levelling your floor a pain in the ass. Not only are the tiles different thicknesses, but often a single tile is thicker on one edge than the other.

I've had slate in all of my homes over the past 10 years, I've never ran into durability issues and I usually buy the cheap $1.99 per tile stuff that pops up at Rona or Home Depot.

timdog
02-19-2014, 11:16 AM
Originally posted by blitz