PDA

View Full Version : Degree options - night school/correspondence

timdog
03-03-2014, 12:13 PM
I'm interested in pursuing a degree but currently work a full time job and have a family. I have a 2 year diploma at SAIT and am doing fairly well for myself but feel that my career progression might be limited down the road without a degree. I've been trying to find colleges/universities that offer degree programs in the form of evening classes and/or correspondence. There is University of Athabasca, which I know nothing about, and otherwise I'm not finding a lot of options. Also hoping that my diploma would at least account for SOME credits (maybe 1 year worth?) towards the degree. Is there such a thing as a university/education expert that could help me decipher all of the options?

roopi
03-03-2014, 12:18 PM
I think this would really depend on the type of degree you are trying to pursue. Have you determined that and does it relate to your diploma? If so let us know what it is and maybe someone can point you to the right school.

Speed_69
03-03-2014, 12:32 PM
The University of Lethbridge.

Calgary campus is in Bow Valley College downtown. Depending on your diploma, they give you full 2 years of transfer credits towards a post-diploma management degree. They only have evening classes available so it fits your needs.

I was doing this in Calgary, but moved to Lethbridge to complete the rest of my degree. The Calgary instructors aren't that great in my opinion.

http://www.uleth.ca/management/programs-degrees/undergraduate/degree-and-certificate-programs/bachelor-management/post-diploma

nickyh
03-03-2014, 12:54 PM
SAIT also offers some degrees that are done at night.

They have a few Bachelor of Applied programs and there are a few full on Bachelor programs depending on what exactly you are looking for.