PDA

View Full Version : New Car - Paint Protection

MushiSushi
05-05-2014, 03:07 PM
Hi All,

So I've been told that Paint Protection from the stealership is overpriced. I'm picking up our new car this week and I'm trying to find out what I should do.

Lexus wants to charge $2100 for 3M, Paint and Leather Protections.

Should I do this elsewhere?

Any recommendations on location, types of treatments?

Thanks,
Ed

88CRX
05-05-2014, 03:09 PM
Icon or Shadow seem to be the unanimous choice around here. I personally use Icon for all my tinting/vinyl needs.

MushiSushi
05-05-2014, 03:18 PM
Originally posted by 88CRX
Icon or Shadow seem to be the unanimous choice around here. I personally use Icon for all my tinting/vinyl needs.

Thanks!

What about actual paint protection/sealers? I've heard people rave about opticoat but I've never used it before.

Mitsu3000gt
05-05-2014, 03:39 PM
+1 for Shadow tint for the 3M.

Just clay bar the car yourself and put on a good quality paint sealant, no need to purchase the dealer "paint protection". If you don't want to do it yourself, I'm sure you can find a detail shop to do it cheaper than the dealer. I like Menzerna products for casual use, but there are tons of good ones at all kinds of price levels that claim to last a long time. You can end up paying quite a bit for some stuff as well.

Rust protection is another joke. If you read the fine print, it basically voids the warranty for 99% of the population.

A friend of mine recently bought a new Hyundai, and as soon as the mentioned he didn't want the protection packages, the prices instantly halved lol. What bothers me is how ready they were to take advantage of someone who hasn't done their homework, and I would be taking it somewhere else to get it done regardless.

gpomp
05-05-2014, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by MushiSushi

Thanks!