PDA

View Full Version : Any granite installers or granite business owners on Beyond?

project240
05-27-2014, 09:34 AM
I have been a woodworker/carpenter for many years and have been thinking about getting into the stone business for quite a while. I just installed granite into my own kitchen including an undermount sink that turned out pretty good.

It's clear to me that I would benefit greatly from seeing/working with someone with experience before jumping in head first.

If there are any granite shop owners or installers on here, I'd love to come "apprentice" with you for a week (at no cost to you, yes, I'll work for free) so I can learn more about the trade.

I no longer live in Calgary, but want to "apprentice" here so I don't step on any toes locally.

Anyways, if you own a stone business, please pm me if this arrangement might work. Exact dates not important, but ideally within the next 6 weeks.

project240
06-04-2014, 06:59 PM
Anybody?

Should also mention that there are probably a number of beyonders who can vouch for my attention to detail and quality of work.

Env-Consultant
06-04-2014, 10:33 PM
I dunno man - you basically put an ad up that says:

Train me in a week (I won't charge you) so I can compete with you.

I get what you're thinking of doing, but.....:dunno:

project240
06-05-2014, 12:54 AM
I don't live in Calgary (not wanting to open a shop down the street) and don't want to quit my current job until I have some actual real world experience to find out if this is for me or not.

I thought it is a fair offer... I suppose if I wanted to I could just apply (numerous shops hiring) actually get paid for my time, but only stay for a week.

Again, just looking for some real world experience to determine whether or not it is something I'd like to pursue.

Fair, no?

ExtraSlow
06-05-2014, 06:29 AM
It's also a bit of an insult to these skilled tradesmen that you think you could pick up most of thier knowledge in one week.

project240
06-05-2014, 08:40 AM