PDA

View Full Version : New to the Bike world

Zetsu
06-16-2014, 03:35 PM
I've been into tuning and driving JDMs hard for a while. But, I'd like to switch it up for the summer and get a bit into street bikes. I have some little experience dirt biking and that from when I was younger. I'd like to get started into something small-ish (i.e. ~600CC). Main reason I'm looking to start small is to not tempt myself too much into over doing it well I'm fresh on the roads.

ANYWAYS. I'm looking for advice on what to look for when checking out privately sold bikes, opinions on what to pay for Price:Kilometer etc. What are opinions on good starter bikes. I love the look of R6's and GSX-r's and that. Not a huge Ninja fan, don't mind CBR's. But, this is just all from my own speculation on these bikes. I would appreciate any and all advice!

-Thanks!

bjstare
06-16-2014, 04:06 PM
Search for one of the billion threads on this.

Take home points:

-If you start on a 600 supersport, you still have to be smart about it. They have more than enough power to kill yourself or someone else.

-Suggested first rides: ninja 650R, SV650, maybe an FZ8. They are fast enough to be fun, easier to handle than a supersport.

-Set aside budget for good gear. All gear including: Boots, pants, jacket, gloves, GOOD helmet. Don't ride in jeans and a hoodie, trust me, I know from experience that stuff doesn't protect you.

Zetsu
06-16-2014, 04:19 PM
Originally posted by cjblair
Search for one of the billion threads on this.
-Set aside budget for good gear. All gear including: Boots, pants, jacket, gloves, GOOD helmet. Don't ride in jeans and a hoodie, trust me, I know from experience that stuff doesn't protect you.

Thanks, yeah gear is definitely a priority!

16hypen3sp
06-16-2014, 04:22 PM
cj summed it up nicely.

Just be careful on a 600. I've seen shit hit the fan on the little bikes too. I road motocross for years before jumping on a road bike. The experience helped for sure.

Welcome to the club!