PDA

View Full Version : CPA PREP Program

phaedrus16
07-20-2014, 06:46 PM
Hey,

I've recently been considering going after a CPA designation, but am unsure of exactly which route to take. I have a university degree in psychology, which obviously doesn't mean much when it comes to accounting. However, I came across the CPA PREP program, which allows you to take the requisite accounting courses needed in order to enter the actual CPA program (CPA PEP). All you need for the PREP program is a university degree. Now to my current knowledge, you can either take the required courses through CPA itself, or at a post-secondary institution that offers them. I may be wrong in this assumption, but it seems like the courses that comprise the PREP program are similar to the courses that comprise a Bcomm with a specialization in accounting minus the free electives. If this is true, then would it be better to do the PREP program through CPA, or just return to university to complete a Bcomm after-degree in accounting? From what I read on the CPA website, it sounds like the PREP program was meant to be completed in around a year. They offer the courses at certain times during the year, and you take them as you need them. What's not making sense to me is how one can complete the PREP program through CPA in a year, when it would take two years to complete an after-degree at a university, fulfilling the same requirements. Is the PREP program through CPA more condensed, and, if so, does this make it any more difficult to get through? Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Stephen81
07-20-2014, 07:46 PM