PDA

View Full Version : Filing taxes in the US

Prelude_dude
10-27-2014, 04:54 PM
My wife is an american; with the new rules that Canadian Financial Institutions need to supply the IRS with their citizens banking details, we have to file taxes to the IRS for the last 5-6 years now....

I have some basic accounting knowledge as I do my own CDN taxes with the assistance of tax suite programs. I have no idea what I am doing for US taxes.

Hiring an accountant for this is going to cost a boat load of money, with a new baby and a new house, I would rather attempt to do this myself. Our CDN taxes are quite simple, we do not have a ton of investments or anything so I am hoping this will be relatively quick.

Anyone have any expertise or advise on where to start or begin with this?

Thanks!

sabad66
10-27-2014, 07:13 PM
If it's just your wife that is American, you won't have to do a return. Just have your wife file as Married filing separately.

I don't think you'll have to go back 5-6 years. You should be able to get by with the streamlined procedure which is 3 years of back taxes (2013, 2012, 2011 years) + 6 years of FBARs. FBARs are pretty straight forward, but it's just a PITA to go back and get your records.

Overall if she made < 90k for the last 3 years then it will be very easy. Just do it using the Foreign Earned Income Exclusion so she won't have income tax to pay. If she made > 90k, easiest way is to exclude the first 90k via FEIE, then look at the foreign tax credits for the amount over 90k. Still shouldn't have any income tax to pay using this method too.

For investments, are they under your name or hers?

Also, would suggest she closes any TFSA she may have in her name as they are not treated as tax-free in the US.