PDA

View Full Version : Homes by AVI - Selection centre

vkesava1
10-29-2014, 10:43 AM
Hello There,

I have a selection centre appointment coming up soon. Anybody finished their selection centre appointment recently ? Any suggestions ?

Also Home by AVI appliances are whirlpool. I have never used whirlpool before. I m planning for a gas range, any model in whirlpool that is good ? Please advise.

Thanks

Sugarphreak
10-29-2014, 11:25 AM

vkesava1
10-29-2014, 11:43 AM
Originally posted by Sugarphreak
Here are my tips:

They charge you more if you try to stagger tiles, so don’t, it doesn’t make that much of a difference anyway. Also keep in mind that if you go with an engineered floor, it sits lower, and they will try to charge you 1$ per square foot if you want it to be the same elevation with the rest of the house. Try to just go with standard hardwood and tiles to avoid that cost.

Builder Quartz is a million times better than builder Granite options IMO, if they still have the grey sparkly stuff it looks great with natural rich wood colours. You can use different countertops for your kitchen and bathroom without surcharges, but the cabinets have to stay the same or you end up paying for two-tone, so try to find something that works for both.

Try to match your counter top colour with elements in your backsplash. If you really want to save some money on your backsplash, just get them to put a 6” strip of really fancy glass tiles into a selection of standard tiles, it keeps the cost way down and looks great…. Works in the bathroom as well for the shower tile.

Pay for the bevel on the mirrors, it is like 100$ and makes a very nice difference in the bathrooms without spending thousands