PDA

View Full Version : Reputable place to buy a used truck in Calgary.

hightimes
11-06-2014, 01:28 PM
I'm new to Calgary and in the market for a 3/4 tonne truck with less than ~100k on it. I'm sure there's plenty of decent options out there so if anyone has specific places to avoid that would help as well.

Appreciate any input. Thanks.

Tik-Tok
11-06-2014, 01:45 PM
Avoid anywhere that sells used cars, also avoid anywhere with "Gallery" in the name, or anywhere that uses Z's instead of S's.

Eg, "Gallery of Fine Cars", or "Treadz"

Also avoid International Motor Cars, they were previously South Deerfoot Suzuki, a quick search will show you why, lol.

ExtraSlow
11-06-2014, 01:46 PM
Virtually all the independant used vehicles places are scumbags in this town. The calgary market is flooded with overpriced former field trucks. Just throw an air freshener in it, wash the outside and spray armorall everywhere in the inside, good to go!

Could look at one of the leasing shops like Summit (formerly Shaw). They get some nicer trucks that are well optioned out (like a for a foreman etc.).
Dealers, well, they have thier good and bad points. Not normally going to get a totally destroyed truck at a dealer, they prefer to auction those off.

What features, years, engine, price are you looking at? That'll help narrow it down.

The market for pickups is very strong here, so not liekly to find many "hidden gems". Heck, even wholesale auction prices are quite high. Depending on incentives and finance rates, it can often make sense to buy brand new.

G-ZUS
11-06-2014, 01:46 PM
Osman Motors

ExtraSlow
11-06-2014, 01:50 PM
Also, don't be scared of the 100,000 km mark. It's not magic, trucks don't fall apart at that mark if they've been well cared for. Many companies try to trade in trucks around that mileage, so there is a much larger selection in the 120-150,000km range. If those are highway miles, I'd take that over a truck with 50,000 km of lease roads.

hightimes