PDA

View Full Version : The Photographer and privacy issues

C_Dave45
04-02-2015, 08:52 AM
*edit*...sorry guys....gonna pull the plug on this discussion. In case it goes legal.

spikerS
04-02-2015, 09:07 AM
I just would have told him to fuck off and carry on, and if he would like to indicate which of the kids he knows should not have their pics taken, you will do your best, as a courtesy, to not take their picture.

But you are right, one does not have the reasonable expectation of privacy in a publicly accessed facility. They can not stop you from taking the pictures. and even the city can't because it is a public forum. The only ones who could, would be the event organizers, and take the necessary and reasonable steps to ensure privacy with explicit instructions that photos and videos are prohibited. IMP of course, i am not a legal expert.

the flip side to this, is this husband and wife duo could make life difficult for you and the organization, and in turn, this could negatively impact your son and his experiences at these events.

D'z Nutz
04-02-2015, 09:13 AM
Generally speaking, you're free to shoot anything you want without permission as long as it's public property but this sounds like it's an organized event at a private facility (unless the basketball court actually is public property)?

Ultimately I'd go talk to the head chief in charge and get it cleared with him so you're not going by any assumptions and by his word. If they give you shit again, tell them to go take it up with him because he gave you the go ahead.

lilmira
04-02-2015, 09:19 AM
You didn't do anything wrong imo. Some people are just super sensitive or overzealous for whatever reason. You did the right thing by not escalating the situation. I would just calmly discuss the matter with whoever in charge and with everyone there. Tell them why you are taking pictures there and find out why someone may be uncomfortable with that. Apply your common sense and move on.

msommers