PDA

View Full Version : Does the shape or wood of a Box really make a diff in the THUMP and sound of the subs

peanut
03-11-2004, 05:50 PM
Does the shape or size of a box really make a big difference?? What about a long Tube box (it has two small vent sections with padding, instr. says not to block those holes, it will sound better?) wtf? but the square boxes don't have vents in the back??

is it better to split up the subs for it's own little box or have one big box.. I rather have two little ones for room cormfort..

Ok, don't laugh but i'm new to this and experimenting with my spare winter 4x4 first so it's not top grade stuff, not worth it for a spare car. My sports car will be nothing but top grade.. Right now i have a cheezy Roadmaster 600 watt 12 inch sub with a tube box.. $50 bucks!! wtf!!! Shit, a roadmaster 12 inch square box only is like $37 dollars!! It feels so nice against my back on the chair with that thump!!

I want to sell that and get a 15inch 1000 watt amp.. i forgot which brand but it was a generic one i believe... I should sell my tube sub and get this one right? Is generic shit really sucky compare to the good shit.. by what percent?? I have a audiobahn sub and it's a beautiful piece of poohtang!! but that was a $100.00 man!! i didn't try it out yet.. my bud haven't built my box for it yet..

NV_JSmith
03-11-2004, 06:54 PM
if there are more than one sub in a compartment subs may be damaged quicker, and if one is damaged otheres are garunteed to follow. seperate comparments for subs are better than one compartment and more than one sub.

SAiamNE
03-11-2004, 07:05 PM
What about the thickness of a box?
Say 1" thick box VS a 1/2" thick box??

soupey
03-11-2004, 07:25 PM