PDA

View Full Version : Tax return and childcare costs

craigcd
08-31-2015, 09:57 PM
OK, I am going to try to explain this as clear as possible. Feel free to ask questions if I missed something or if I am being unclear.

Currently my mother in-law cares for our kids during the day while we work and we pay her a monthly amount to do so, she doesn't work otherwise and this is her only "income". Essentially the cost covers food, gas and basic costs. My father in-law works.

When we did our taxes this year we input the amount of childcare we paid her and understood that to do so she would have to claim that amount on her return. The amount is well under the limit of $11,000 or whatever.

They are currently completing their 2014 taxes and when they enter the amount into her return under "other income line 104" it is reducing his refund by about $1200 (had they not entered anything), this is joint return.

I am not a tax expert so if you can explain how this works or if there is a better way to claim this amount that would be great. My real issue is that what we pay her basically covers expenses and is not a income, I was surprised to hear it was lowering his/their return.

Thanks in advance

ExtraSlow
09-01-2015, 06:49 AM
Higher income means more taxes and thus a lower refund.

If she has expenses, she'll need to become a business and write off those expenses against her earned income.

It would for sure be wrong for her to stop claiming this amount as income and just accept cash from you. Especially if you continues to claim that amount on your taxes as a legitimate childcare expense. Probably get audited. Bad idea.

The tax system is set up for parents to purchase childcare from businesses.

Masked Bandit
09-01-2015, 08:05 AM