PDA

View Full Version : Car Written Off? Negotiating With Insurance?

Feruk
09-15-2015, 01:06 PM
My car's been written off as a result of hail damage. Insurance said my car is worth X and gave me two choices: either take Y (almost X) and they take the car, or take Z (~25% lower than X) and keep the car.

How do I know they're giving me a fair X value? Based on Autotrader comparison, I think they're underestimating (big shock, right?). I heard about "black book" value of car? Is this related, and if so, how do I obtain the value? Will insurance negotiate, and what should my approach be to get the best value for my now beater?

There's lots of websites on this, some with contradictory information. I have zero experience so I figured I'd ask Beyond.

G-ZUS
09-15-2015, 01:21 PM
See what they are going for with similar mileage on Kijiji and Autotrader, screen shot those ads and send them back to the adjuster and tell him/her its worth more than what they offer

Xtrema
09-15-2015, 01:23 PM
Canadian Black Book will give you an estimate of value.

Autotrader is asking, not selling. Unless your car is super rare, insurance seldom take list prices on classified services. But doesn't hurt to do what G-Zus suggest and see if they will bite.

G-ZUS
09-15-2015, 01:29 PM
Originally posted by Xtrema
Canadian Black Book will give you an estimate of value.

Autotrader is asking, not selling. Unless your car is super rare, insurance seldom take list prices on classified services. But doesn't hurt to do what G-Zus suggest and see if they will bite.

When my vehicle got written off in February, the adjuster went on those 2 sites and priced my car out. I was able to send her a few ads which got me another $500 out of her:dunno:

Feruk
09-15-2015, 01:41 PM
Additional question: If I keep the car, the salvage they are taking is 21%. How is this number decided and can I argue it?

G-ZUS
09-15-2015, 01:54 PM
Originally posted by Feruk