PDA

View Full Version : Air compressor: to buy or not to buy...?

Sykes
09-23-2015, 12:25 PM
Canadian Tire has a good price on a 26G compressor right now, but it's got a direct drive, oil-less motor. Rated at 2HP (but likely not on 120V?). I know enough about compressors to know belt drives are ideal, but for $229, is it worth considering?

It'll be used at home in my garage to run the usual air tools: impact, ratchet, hammer, and grinder (it's the Maximum set CT sells)

Here's the link (http://www.canadiantire.ca/en/tools-hardware/air-tools-compressors-accessories/compressors/mastercraft-26g-compressor-matte-1998556p.html?utm_campaign=bazaarvoice&utm_medium=SearchVoice&utm_source=AskAndAnswer&utm_content=Default)

ExtraSlow
09-23-2015, 01:02 PM
There are lots of air compressors on kijiji, and I'm not an expert, but I think you could probably get something better quality for that price.

I just bought a little 2 Gallon portable unit yesterday from kijiji for $40. Clearly not suitable for shop use, but deals are out there.

Darell_n
09-23-2015, 01:05 PM
I wouldn't waste my money on any oil less compressor, but that's just me. Can't stand the sound of them.

silvercivicsir
09-23-2015, 01:07 PM
anybody know where I can get an air compressor serviced? It's a husky brand that leaks oil.

firebane
09-23-2015, 01:14 PM
Originally posted by Darell_n
I wouldn't waste my money on any oil less compressor, but that's just me. Can't stand the sound of them.

Holy god you and me both. Oil less are noisy little buggers and absolutely obnoxious.

carson blocks
09-23-2015, 01:15 PM
A die grinder uses ridiculous amounts of air. Check the ratings on the tools you want to use. Impacts, ratchets, etc are ok as you typically don't continually use them like you would a grinder. I think my die grinder is 6scfm@90, and the compressor you posted is 4.2scfm@90 meaning that if you use it for any significant length of time, you'll be waiting for the compressor to catch up and refill.