PDA

View Full Version : Question about credit/opening new credit card, and accounts with diff banks

Typical_Chinese
11-17-2015, 07:40 PM
I'm a university student and have had a single credit card for almost 4 years now, as well as three years of student loans. In terms of credit card payments, I use it for almost everything possible (including paying for tuition before they removed that option), and pay it off usually at the end of the week when the charge shows up because I am super forgetful and think I've done things when all I really do is file it in the back of my head and think I actually did something.

In terms of credit score, I'm thinking of paying for a report through TransUnion or something relatively soon, since I want to see how I'm doing and maybe plan for the future a bit.

I was thinking of closing my credit card because it offers literally no perks, and was thinking of maybe opening a TD credit card that gives Cash Back. I spoke with them briefly last week and it seems like the $99 annual fee is waived if I have a certain amount of money in the bank, which I plan on doing.

However, I've heard about problems with "closing credit cards with a balance" as well as closing a credit card that has a long history. In my case, my credit card is roughly 4 years old and is my only history basically, other than my student loans (which I don't know if they count towards my credit or not). I'm not sure what a credit card with a balance means, but I think my balance is basically $0 at the end of every week since I pay it off, right?

So, I was wondering if it's better to keep my current credit card and not use it at all, so I have a long history, or close it, take the 4 year hit, and open a new credit card with TD Bank, which I'll use as often as my current credit card anyways, but with cash back (or travel if I choose that, or whatever).