PDA

View Full Version : Plumber recommendations for leaky toilet?

Hero_X
12-03-2015, 12:44 AM
Hey everyone

I just did the leak test on my toilet with some food coloring and bam it's definitely leaking.

I went to home Depot and they recommended switching out the flapper. Did it and it still leaks.

I'm no plumbing expert and I don't want to screw anything up so am looking to go the plumber route.

Anyone know a decent plumber or company that's reasonable in price?

Plz share, thank you!

jwslam
12-03-2015, 01:28 PM
It may be cheaper to just change out the toilet, especially if you have one that does 13L. Going to <6L toilet, you can pick one up for ~$110, plus you get a $50 rebate from the city.

Waldi
12-03-2015, 01:54 PM
Well, call plumber and it will cost you at least $150 just to show up, I would try to buy entire flushing mechanism and use youtube videos to figure how to do so, on the other hand you don't care about money .., there are some plumbing companies that may fit this bill. Good luck

carson blocks
12-03-2015, 02:12 PM
I don't know a plumber who does tiny jobs like that, but honestly even if you suck at home repair stuff (like me), you can do it yourself. It will cost you ~$10 to DIY, take you just a few minutes, and you may not even need tools. Take the lid off, watch the mechanism work a couple times and you'll grasp how it works immediately. There are instructions and youtube vids if you get stuck. This is barely above changing a light bulb on the DIY scale.

Mitsu3000gt
12-03-2015, 02:14 PM
You can buy good toilets for $200 that even come with a seat and all installation hardware. They are also super easy to install - I wouldn't bother with a plumber.

Also don't use chlorine tablets or anything like that in the tank - I've made that mistake before and it destroys the seals and other components.

lilmira
12-03-2015, 02:15 PM
Probably just hard water deposits around the seal. Clean it up, it will be good for a while.