PDA

View Full Version : Another new truck thread

carson blocks
12-04-2015, 01:59 PM
You wouldn't know we're in a recession with all these 'new truck' threads. For me, it was finally time to replace my out-of-warranty but beloved '14 Ram 2500 Laramie with the Cummins and 6 speed (picture) (http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s31/robbinst82/Truck/20151201_1755351_zpsoq1mh2rp.jpg). Seeing as we're in a recession and I'm a disposable oilfield contractor, I thought it only prudent to downgrade to a 1500 gasser to save about $16k on the purchase and a fair amount on operating costs.

So, here's my new 'recession special' old man / cowboy truck, a 2016 Ram 1500 Longhorn gasser. I just couldn't bring myself to go Limited with that new grille and tailgate. I'm no 'InRich' style baller, so she's not 'fully loaded'. My cheap ass didn't check the sunroof box, much to the delight of my 6ft tall girlfriend, and I opted out of the CD player that takes up half the console because it's 2015. I did opt for the 3.92 gears because as I like to say, 'fuel mileage is for pussies', and 'who has time for a slow pickup?'.

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s31/robbinst82/Truck/20151201_1755401_zpsc1ivrhg6.jpg

It looks black, but is apparently 'Black Forest Green'. I'm waiting for the opportunity to see it in bright sun. I don't like black trucks and always wanted a green one, so I was conflicted but gave it a chance anyways and ordered it without ever seeing the colour in person. You can kind of see the green in the lights here, but I have a feeling it's gonna be a bitch to keep clean.

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s31/robbinst82/Truck/20151201_1755471_zpsju54db1i.jpg