PDA

View Full Version : Car accident settlement outside of insurance

stealth
12-10-2015, 05:43 PM
Has anyone settle outside of insurance for a minor fender bender?

Looking for advice or a template for a liability release form.

Thaco
12-10-2015, 07:58 PM
i think a pretty simple "with reguards to the collision x date at x time involving x people and x vehicles the sum of x was transferred form x to x and this waives x of all future liabilies, both property or injury related" would suffice

ExtraSlow
12-10-2015, 10:45 PM
If it's anything more than a fender bender, I would be extremely careful with this. Medical problems etc. I'm no lawyer, but I would prefer to let my insurance take care of larger liabilities.

Offroad
12-10-2015, 11:44 PM
Don't do it.........I did......signed a waiver ....was hit hard from behind btw........about 2 months later just turning over in bed I literally was paralyzed in pain,,,,I know this was from the accident.....no back problems or issues before the accident....I'll never settle out of insurance again.....I suffered for 6 months at least .

Darell_n
12-10-2015, 11:46 PM
I settled for a cheque for a fender bender after a lunch truck backed into my parked truck on the street. Took a month of threatening the company owner to go through insurance before he gave me the address to his mansion to pick up the cheque. Didn't fill out any paperwork at all. Cheap prick.

stealth
12-11-2015, 09:52 AM
Just to clarify, this was a parking lot fender bender. The car I hit was empty, just nicked the front corner of the bumper.

Car is worth $500, and I am giving the girl $400...

shakalaka
12-11-2015, 10:05 AM
I did when someone backed into my car in their company truck. Gave him the estimate, he gave me a bank draft. Since there were no injuries and it was extremely minor, I wasn't going to be doing an injury claim anyway. The waiver of liability form just has all the details and make sure it's signed and witnessed by an independent 3rd party.