PDA

View Full Version : Teaching students with ADHD

msommers
01-27-2016, 07:53 PM
I'm volunteering with some elementary school kids and one in particular displays all the signs of ADHD. Initially I thought it was a bit of a knee-jerk assessment but the signs after the last few weeks are at least hinting in that direction. I have no professional experience to assess this boy as I'm not even remotely qualified to make those claims right now but with that diagnosis in mind...

So instead of trying to get him to focus by saying "lets try to focus on this" I'm trying to think of a different methodology that will be more engaging and also likely more enjoyable for him, which at the end of the day is what this is about. As of now he's viewing this time more to play with his friends than a 50/50 homework help and playing board games. But in comparison to his friends, we can't even come close to completing the assigned homework like his peers do because of his ease to get distracted or start thinking about something completely random.

For parents or teachers that are in the know, what have you found works well or suggestions I could try?

Here in Edmonton, the public library offers some online activities which I'm going to try for next week's session. They appear more video game-style rather than textbook type learning.

ExtraSlow
01-27-2016, 08:46 PM
Well, if it's something that kid hates, he'll have a hard time focusing on it no matter what, so if you can modify the material a bit to suit his interests that always helps.

Also, if you are able, letting him stand up while he works on it can help. Concentrating and sitting still are not synonymous. Also can help to have shorter term goals for small rewards, like he answers one question, then he gets to crumple up a piece of paper and throw it towards the garbage can etc.