PDA

View Full Version : driving with an antique license plate question.

master hec0
04-24-2016, 09:00 PM
I recently picked up an old Benz and I'm wondering if registering it as an antique vehicle would work for me.

the law states
(4) An antique motor vehicle may only be
(a) used as a collector’s item for transportation to and from
and for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades or
similar events, or
(b) driven to and from a garage or service station for repairs
or servicing.

Now the fun part.
I work as a mechanic so technically the vehicle will be driven to and from a service station where it may be getting repairs. (and i will have a primary vehicle registered as well)

has anyone ever tried this and/or ever been ticketed for using the antique plate outside of the listed criteria and if so how much was the ticket?

Edit: found the answer to my ticket question.
57(3)
Use registered antique motor vehicle as general
transportation - $115

jacky4566
04-24-2016, 09:55 PM
I have never heard of someone getting ticketed for violating 57(3). What cop would ever check that? Too busy giving out window tint tickets :rofl:

What you really to consider is if you get caught in an accident outside of those parameters. Your insurance company would close the door to you and potentially leave you with a huge expense/ medical bills.

flipstah
04-24-2016, 10:07 PM
I only drive my Rover on car meets or events, such as trips to Waiparous or Maclean Creek.

A Beyond meet is technically a car event.

master hec0
04-24-2016, 10:09 PM
Originally posted by jacky4566
I have never heard of someone getting ticketed for violating 57(3). What cop would ever check that? Too busy giving out window tint tickets :rofl:

What you really to consider is if you get caught in an accident outside of those parameters. Your insurance company would close the door to you and potentially leave you with a huge expense/ medical bills.