PDA

View Full Version : C4/C5 corvette or ?

Hallowed_point
05-17-2016, 10:49 AM
So now that I've got my condo purchase taken care of, it's time to be irresponsible.

Looking at getting a fun summer only car as I have my Si as the daily flogger (which I absolutely love btw.)

I'm trying to decide between a late model 91-96 LT1 Corvette or a 97-2000 Corvette (6 speeds only.) I want a targa or vert for sure.

Part of me says go LS for reliability, fuel economy, handling etc etc. Plus I have 3 years experience with an LS1 engine. However, C5's start @ 15,000 for a higher mileage example here.

As a kid, my first dream car was the C4. It's such a sexy looking car even to this day. Black or white with a red leather interior. 0-60 in 5.1 seconds and decent mileage. And I can pick one up for 10,000 or so here.

Which one and why? I don't want another mustang, cobra etc. I don't care for the seating position at all. I want something Murican, loud, rwd & v8 with an open air feel.

bjstare
05-17-2016, 10:54 AM
Is there an option C? Save your pennies for a C6? haha

I've looked at Corvettes on and off for about a year, and every time I look at them, I wind up with the solution that I won't even consider it until a C6 is in the price range. The C6 interior is questionable, the C5 interior is :barf: :barf: :barf:
Edit: Or as mentioned, I'd compromise on the interior for a C5 Z06. But for that price, might as well just get a C6.

If that's not an option, then definitely C4. Find a loaded one with a manual transmission, cut your hair in a mullet, and enjoy! haha

Shlade
05-17-2016, 10:54 AM
I've seen quite a few c4's going for like 8-11k on kijiji...

I dunno man I'd get a c5z06 personally.

Hallowed_point
05-17-2016, 10:56 AM