PDA

View Full Version : Financing certified Pre-owned @ 0% - advice?

Sykes
05-23-2016, 11:53 PM
So I'm considering financing a vehicle but I've never done it before - what should I expect?

The vehicle in question is a Certified pre-owned 2012 GTI with 32000 km's on it for $21500 + Tax. VW's got a promo going on for 0% financing up to 60 months. I've sent an inquiry for an 'ePrice', but I suspect that's more of a tactic than anything.

My biggest concern is getting taken for a ride by the dealer and I just want to know what to look out for. Also any negotiating tips would be appreciated too!

Thanks!

max_boost
05-24-2016, 12:27 AM
Ask to see the paper work and full breakdown of everything.

That seems like a decent price for the car and 0%.

Any extended warranty?

ExtraSlow
05-24-2016, 06:41 AM
0% financing is a good deal, but it would be fascinating to know what price they'd sell you that same car for in a cash deal. Might not be much different, since the financing is though VW Canada, and not the dealership.

Sykes
05-24-2016, 07:21 AM
Any extended warranty?

They offer a 2-year/40,000 warranty on top of whatever is remaining with the car. VW's site says new vehicles come with 4-year basic and 5-year powertrain. I've always heard "don't buy the extended warranty", but that's always for consumer electronics - is the same true for cars?

0% financing is a good deal, but it would be fascinating to know what price they'd sell you that same car for in a cash deal.

I'm the worst negotiator ever because I always think prices are fixed and final (and everytime they say 'no' when asked to move on price, I say okay... haha). I'll found out the details today.

Xtrema
05-24-2016, 08:57 AM
Originally posted by Sykes