PDA

View Full Version : Engineering into CFA

dandia89
12-14-2016, 09:07 PM
Wondering what everyone's thoughts on the ability to transition into a financial industry from an engineering background. I have little experience in the financial sector, but seeing how engineering jobs are slim to none, I was considering moving into the finance sector.

With little to no background in finance, but a strong interest in personal investment and budgeting, I want to explore the possibility moving over.

Any engineers out there who moved over? Would a CFA help?

Super_Geo
12-14-2016, 09:21 PM
Networking is key. The CFA definitely helps. The engineering to equity research or A&D path is well trodden.

The_Rural_Juror
12-15-2016, 12:10 AM
Personal investment and budgeting = CFP.
Investment analysis = CFA

Buster
12-15-2016, 01:50 AM
I think it's a good idea. Can probably knock it off over a long weekend.

TYMSMNY
12-15-2016, 02:39 AM
what kind of eng are you? with what area of expertise? it could give you an edge.

budgeting and personal finance.... sounds more retail so a CFA won't give you much on that end.

jwslam
12-15-2016, 09:11 AM
Originally posted by Buster
I think it's a good idea. Can probably knock it off over a long weekend.
:nut: :nut: :nut: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
Doubtful even if you graduated with honours in Finance, let alone most eng having no idea what debits/credits mean and how they fit into statements.

bjstare
12-15-2016, 09:46 AM
Originally posted by jwslam

:nut: :nut: :nut: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:
let alone most eng having no idea what debits/credits mean and how they fit into statements.