PDA

View Full Version : 111 in an 80 zone

CrazyDemon
03-21-2004, 12:48 AM
I was driving my friend home to Okotoks last night after watching a movie, and we took Mcleod Trail which becomes the #2 Highway after the City limit.

It was about midnight, and after crossing the 22X, I was under the impression that the speed limit has already changed to 100. I was wrong. I sped up to about 105 and soon after, a cop comes out of the buses and pulls me over. He says I've been going 111 and gives me a ticket for going 31 over.

I honestly feel that this was a trap, and I was not endangering anyone by going around 100 on the exact same strech of road that inherits the 100k/h limit about 1-2k from the point I was pulled over.

I just turned 18, and Im still an 'occasional driver' on my parent's insurance. I have a clean record, and everyone will tell you that I'm a very safe driver. I have also already contacted POINTTS to see what they can do for me.

What should I do?

silvercivicsir
03-21-2004, 12:54 AM
Dude your in the wrong, and
Yes it is a speed trap, But you were speeding. it's your fault for not checking the speed limit..

Pay the Fine, and Learn your lesson..

Gonthro
03-21-2004, 01:12 AM
points will likely get the demerits knocked off.. but as was said, you were in the wrong, until you pass that sign that says 100 they can nail ya

ninspeed
03-21-2004, 02:05 AM
call pointts... but you are guilty... get your demerits off

joegrang
03-21-2004, 10:23 AM
well if it make u feel any better I got caught in the same place except I was doing 141 in that zone... took it to pointts they knocked it down to 50 over the limit which was not speeding in excess. But yea it sucks dude. The only argument that covers it is pretty much that u thought it was a highway

benyl
03-21-2004, 10:48 AM
what should you do?

a search. There are probably 100 threads on this topic.

You got caught, pay the consequences. Sucks, I know, but thems the rules.

rice_eater
03-21-2004, 12:06 PM