PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever asked for severance package before?

armyofone
06-15-2017, 10:54 AM
Just had a question and I was wondering if anyone could chime in here.
Well recently my company was purchased out and I just learned my new position would be a demotion to a more junior level. I have quite a few years experience doing my position and my severance package would be pretty decent. Does anyone have experience in a situation like this where they lower your position to just ask to be laid off and packaged out? Would this be grounds for a constructive dismissal? I just wanted some general opinions before I consult legal counsel.

Disoblige
06-15-2017, 11:00 AM
You mentioned lowering your position. But does that mean lowered pay as well?

armyofone
06-15-2017, 11:06 AM
You mentioned lowering your position. But does that mean lowered pay as well?

Base Salary is the same, but completely removing bonus and stock options. So basically from where I am now, it would be somewhere around a 15-20K/year drop if I factor those in.

FraserB
06-15-2017, 11:08 AM
What you are describing is constructive dismissal.

Unless you agreed to the changes.

armyofone
06-15-2017, 11:13 AM
What you are describing is constructive dismissal.

Unless you agreed to the changes.

This is what I was figuring as well, but my colleagues are saying as long as the new company offers you a REASONABLE position that it wont be grounds for constructive dismissal. I'm a little torn.

FraserB
06-15-2017, 11:15 AM
You need to speak to an employment lawyer. Advice from your coworkers and the internet is worth exactly what you are paying for it.

armyofone
06-15-2017, 11:16 AM
You need to speak to an employment lawyer. Advice from your coworkers and the internet is worth exactly what you are paying for it.

That will be my next step, I was more so just curious if anyone has had any success at ever asking your company basically "Hey, this isn't going to work, can I have my severance and walk?"