PDA

View Full Version : 89 Civic Clutch Install Question(s)

core_upt
03-25-2004, 02:42 PM
Hey everyone,

I need to put a new clutch on the beater as the one it has now is starting to slip (upon acceleration the car does not move well yet the RPMs go up). I figure, based on searches and discussions on here that the clutch is gone and will ne to be replaced.

I would like to try to do this myself, for financial reasons more then anything else, but I have never done something like this before and have little mechanical know-how.

I realize this is a big job but I can do it over a weekend if need be, time isn't much of a concern.

What all do I need to do this and exactly HOW big of a job is this and can it be done by a very amatuer mechanic. Also, what all do I need to get this done and where is the cheapest place to buy a clutch kit from (not performance).

Any help, as always, is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

J

hendosa
03-26-2004, 11:55 AM
Hey dude,
My guess is you might be better off getting a mechanic to do it. A clutch can be fairly easy to install for your first time if you can have a good look at everything, and understand how it goes together.
Since this is a civic, if you are doing it yourself I am guessing you would put a jack under the transaxle, unbolt it and drop it a bit, and shift it sideways to make a gap, and then take the old pressure plate/clutch off the flywheel and put new one on.
All this would have to be done under your car (I am guessing you do not have any means of lifting the car into the air) while sticking your arm into the housing and blindly undoing all the blots.