PDA

View Full Version : Travelling for work

nzwasp
04-17-2018, 01:46 PM
Who on here has to travel for work and what type of work do you do?

My work contract states up to 50% travel; and its felt like that. I work as a cyber security / network / systems in automation. So this year ive spent approximately 4 weeks in Fort McMurray/Conklin area, also been out to Sarnia, ON for a week and just spent two weeks in Ireland for work as well. Technically I am in a Canadian team but our worldwide team calls on us often to travel to their areas to help out.

I know Kobe always mentions he is travelling (i presume for work), I wondered if others have to travel or be on the road for work all the time as well?

LilDrunkenSmurf
04-17-2018, 01:48 PM
Currently on a contract that requires lots of travel to Vancouver. Spending approx 6 weeks total in Downtown Vancouver, and then a bunch of time in Burnaby.

I'm typically a sysadmin, but for this contract I'm a desktop deployment designer/implementer.

schurchill39
04-17-2018, 02:27 PM
Oil field service industry. I'm based out of Calgary but I will do lots of training or act as the engineering lead on high profile jobs in the field if needed. I don't get to go anywhere cool for that though, just Alberta and Sask so I'd say I am on the road about 30% of my time. I've done quite a few international presentations though and I'm a big fan when I get invited or apply to speak somewhere outside of Canada.

KPHMPH
04-17-2018, 02:58 PM
Oilfield.
I live in Calgary and work up in Grande Prairie... I’ve found flying is the cheapest, my time is worth a lot more than the dollars I spend on a plane ticket.

Nufy
04-17-2018, 03:35 PM
Oil and gas...

Currently SME for several projects that has seen me travel to Mexico, Italy, Houston.

Will probably be spending most of the summer in Northern AB and the fall winter in Mexico. Combination of Construction support, commissioning and Start-up.

03ozwhip
04-17-2018, 03:50 PM