PDA

View Full Version : Are you a car guy?

Pages : [1] 2

ExtraSlow
05-22-2018, 07:34 AM
Straight up, do you consider yourself a car person?

I do minor mechanical work, I've owned about 20 vehicles over the years, but I don't think I'm much of a car guy. Mostly I like boring cars, and I rarely modify my vehicle away from stock configuration.

Twin_Cam_Turbo
05-22-2018, 07:43 AM
Very much so. I work in the industry, work on my own cars, work on friends cars, go to car shows, read car magazines, race cars, race karts, keep up with news. Most of my life is consumed by it.

Tik-Tok
05-22-2018, 07:55 AM
I used to be, but my interest has really dwindled off to almost zero the past few years. I used to love having a summer fast/fun/hobby car (of all types), loved working on them, read auto news daily, etc. Now fiduciary responsibility has really taken ahold of me, and after turning wrenches all week at work, I really hate doing it at home.

BavarianBeast
05-22-2018, 08:01 AM
Hell yeah. I plan to have a 20+ car collection by the time I hit 40.

SKR
05-22-2018, 08:28 AM
Yeah I'd say I am. I don't twist my own wrenches, but I don't think you have to to be a car person. I think it's enough just to have an interest beyond the practical point A to point B stuff.

killramos
05-22-2018, 08:31 AM
I don’t think you need to be interest in stickers, fart cans, and towel racks to be a car guy :rofl:

Kloubek
05-22-2018, 08:35 AM
Sure I am. I've owned about 50 cars over the years (bought and sold many of them for profit), and tend to own at least two at a time. I do most of my own mechanical work, and am vastly more knowledgeable than most of my friends about troubleshooting and vehicle values, etc. More than anything though, a nice car simply "moves" me... which is not something I can say about almost anything else I experience in life.

Twin_Cam_Turbo
05-22-2018, 08:37 AM