PDA

View Full Version : Is my engineering career over?

Hyperflux
06-16-2018, 07:10 PM
I'll try to make this as succinct as possible; I feel like I've shot myself in the foot and sabotaged myself. I graduated in May 2017 (over a year ago) with a major in mechanical engineering and minor and mechatronics from the University of Calgary with a 3.35 GPA. I also have 16 months of experience with a big EPCM firm as an engineering intern in the HVAC industry. When I graduated, I was looking for jobs for a couple months but then something happened and I got super lucky. I discovered crypto and got into the right altcoins at the right time - I basically 20x'd my initial capital. Because of that, I stopped actively looking for a job until now and I now realise this was a poor decision in hindsight. I don't have enough to be financially independent for life and retire early but I can live comfortably for a decade or so without working.

Now, I've applied to probably a hundred jobs all over Canada during the last two months and haven't had any luck. I know it looks bad that I've been out of relevant work experience for over a year after graduation but I don't know how to convince employers that I did something productive with crypto. The truth is, I got lucky and I thought I could make enough off my crypto to live off the rest of my life but I now know that I need to work and kickstart my professional career.

Anyway, I'm going to keep applying for jobs and I also got admission into comp sci and software engineering in fall (I would choose one of the two programs, it's back-up plan in case I can't find anything, plus I'm highly interested in it. It would be an additional 2-2.5 years). What would you guys do in my situation - any advice?

Edit: thanks for the advice guys, I'll take it.

Disoblige
06-16-2018, 07:44 PM