PDA

View Full Version : TFSA gains. Pull them out or leave them be?

16hypen3sp
02-21-2019, 11:31 PM
Lets say you have a maxed out TFSA that's fully invested. You have gains of $3k from those investments. Do you guys just leave it alone or do you do anything with those gains? I'm thinking of pulling my gains out from my TFSA and putting it into my RRSP for tax purposes. But I've never touched my TFSA before so I'm unsure of the consequences or if there are any.

shakalaka
02-22-2019, 12:07 AM
There are no tax implications for the money accrued in a TFSA. So you can make however much income in your TFSA or withdraw it ultimately there are no tax consequences of that.

Based on that I wouldn't advise taking your income out of TFSA and putting into RRSP because you wouldn't be taxed on that income anyway and the entire purpose of RRSP's is to defer taxes on taxable income for a later time.

I am no expert but that's my understanding of this. I am sure someone else will correct me if I am wrong.

16hypen3sp
02-22-2019, 02:30 AM
The main problem I have here is that I have a nasty tax bill coming, I'll owe about $10k on top of what I've already paid in income taxes. Because of this, I am trying to consolidate any extra cash I have into my RRSP before the Mar. 1 deadline to reduce the tax bill.

My last resort is using my line of credit to add into my RRSP. Really don't want to do that tho.

The taxman cometh.

ThePenIsMightier
02-22-2019, 09:06 AM
That money is supposed to help you in retirement. If you take it out now to pay this shitty tax, you'll never end up replacing its value in your retirement plans and you've lost what that $3k would've grown into.
I'd suggest a Net Present Value sort of analysis comparing taking this money out with borrowing money to pay the Tax Man. If you buckle down and set an aggressive repayment schedule on your loan, I suspect you'll come out far ahead in the long run.

lasimmon
02-22-2019, 09:20 AM