PDA

View Full Version : Over the top/extravagant items in homes

speedog
07-28-2019, 09:41 AM
So I've been doing the cabinet installation/service gig for around 4 years now and have done work in places that range from low end rentals to very high end homes.

Over the years, some of the stuff I've seen in homes is quite mind boggling at times. 6 inch thick glass sinks, 6 inch thick polished black stone sinks, wood sinks, motion activated kitchen taps, a hood fan that pushed out 2,000 cm. In the past year, one home with 13.5 foot ceilings in the kitchen and cabinets that went right up to the ceiling, bottoms of the uppermost cabinets was 10.5 feet. Cabjnwts with hand painted accents, electrically operated drawers.

A home in Canmore with polished concrete floors on all levels. Garages with amazing internal drainage systems. Very recently a home in Bel Aire that had an island that measured 92x93 inches, I had to stretch almost to my limits to touch the middle of that piece of stone which was 2.5 inches thick - a ridiculously heavy chunk of stone.

Lighting, shit I've seen some incredibly beautiful stuff and then some really bizarre stuff. I've installed floating shelves in front of tile and mirrors, quite challenging to do and not damage the tile/mirror at the same time and then have to make sure it's strong and secure enough not to set or put too much pressure on the tiles or mirror.

Dressing rooms that are over 350 square feet, showers with 12 foot tall glass walls, bathrooms and bars with cabinets 10 feet up on the walls. 1.25" thick granite back splashes, homes that have in floor heating in every room including the utility room.

There honestly is no limit to what people will put in their homes, just when I think I've seen it all then I see something even more over the top.

Tell me what you've seen that's quite unbelievable in a home.

Darell_n
07-28-2019, 10:49 AM