PDA

View Full Version : Selling used car and dealership involvement

ragu
04-30-2021, 06:20 PM
Hey guys. I’m new to this and wanted to see if this throws any red flags for you.

I’m selling a used car, a fellow calls me and shows interest. Silence for a week.

I get a rushed call from a rep at House of Cars asking for VIN to solve financing for a client who’s interested. I return to work thinking it’s a fishing call.

I get another call an hour or so later, this time from first fellow saying he’d like to set up meeting tomorrow, but before if I can give out VIN it’ll help him (with financing).

Is that normal? Can giving VIN out cause any issues? I’m guessing not. But thoughts?

roopi
04-30-2021, 06:49 PM
I don't think there is any concern giving out the VIN and I feel like I've read somewhere on Beyond about someone using a used car dealership for a private sale financing.

rx7boi
04-30-2021, 07:09 PM
I'll let others give you the answer but for what it's worth, people need the VIN to run a Carfax if you're not paying for one yourself anyway.

arcticcat522
04-30-2021, 07:13 PM
I don't see how giving out the vin could cause you any issue. I mean, anyone can walk upto any car and get the vin

killramos
04-30-2021, 07:26 PM
No issue providing the vin. However I would want to hear a cash offer number before I give them any more info just to avoid some sleazy sales job from house of cars trying to get you to buy a new car.

RX_EVOLV
05-01-2021, 09:21 AM
Happened to me. Was selling my car on Kijiji and House of Cars contacted me saying one of their clients wants to buy my car and they are helping with financing. First I thought it was a scam but went through anyway. We agreed on a price over phone, went over the next day to do the paper work, and got a cheque that we took to the bank right away. Everything went smoothly. They didn't try to upsell me on anything. In and out within 30 mins. They didn't even really inspect the car when I dropped it off.