PDA

View Full Version : Tall trees to replace Columnar Aspens

Rocket1k78
06-14-2023, 01:24 PM
Anyone got recommendations for trees that are similar to Swedish columnar aspens? We have 3 of these that are huge and provide coverage from the neighbors and last year i lost one to the bronze leaf and now the other one is going and im sure its just a matter of time til the middle one gets it.

Doozer
06-14-2023, 01:38 PM
We got a Tower Poplar a few years ago and it's great. Similar in shape to a columnar aspen, but a slightly different look so it's better aesthetics for the neighborhood (instead of CAs down every second house). Supposedly also has a much longer lifespan than columnar aspens, although obviously doesn't grow as fast. I've heard that CAs only have a lifespan of 10-15yrs before they generally start dying off.

I'm not an expert, but that's what I was told and that's what we did, so it's something for you to look into anyway. I'll see if I can get a pic later with mine vs my neighbor's aspens.

88CRX
06-14-2023, 01:46 PM
Dakota Pinnacle Birch is a good columnar like tree.

Kloubek
06-14-2023, 01:50 PM
We got a Tower Poplar a few years ago and it's great. Similar in shape to a columnar aspen, but a slightly different look so it's better aesthetics for the neighborhood (instead of CAs down every second house). Supposedly also has a much longer lifespan than columnar aspens, although obviously doesn't grow as fast. I've heard that CAs only have a lifespan of 10-15yrs before they generally start dying off.

We put 10 columnar aspens in our yard. One died, so the company replaced it - with a Tower Poplar. So we had one slightly different tree out of the bunch. Then 2 more ended up dying, and I replaced those with tower poplars as well.

Similar tree in most respects. But the tower poplar seems to either have more branches, or the branches splay out more than the aspens do.

I noticed both grow very quickly.

suntan
06-14-2023, 01:53 PM