PDA

View Full Version : Question about induction

403Gemini
04-05-2004, 03:46 PM
whats the diff between cold air induction systems and short ram induction systems? which is better? are they 2 completely diff things and i can install both or only one?

yes im a newb with this type of shit so no flamming plz just advice and help :D thx in advance!

davidI
04-05-2004, 05:05 PM
You can only install one. Cold air induction is piping the airfilter to a location near the front of the car or in a fender well or somewhere that the filter can grab cold air instead of hot engine air. From what I've read a short ram is just a short pipe with a filter so the air has less distance to travel. Either way I think the general concensus is that they aren't really worth it unless you're planning on continuing with other mods (forced induction).

403Gemini
04-05-2004, 10:55 PM
how much would a total short ram/cold air cost with forced induction and full exhaust?

(approx price)

googe
04-06-2004, 01:10 AM
Originally posted by 403Gemini
how much would a total short ram/cold air cost with forced induction and full exhaust?

(approx price)

intake kits are a couple hundred bucks. forced induction is a turbocharger or supercharger, so its pretty hard to say what it would cost, because there is such a huge variety of applications.

LUDELVR
04-06-2004, 10:10 AM
Originally posted by davidI
You can only install one. Cold air induction is piping the airfilter to a location near the front of the car or in a fender well or somewhere that the filter can grab cold air instead of hot engine air. From what I've read a short ram is just a short pipe with a filter so the air has less distance to travel. Either way I think the general concensus is that they aren't really worth it unless you're planning on continuing with other mods (forced induction).