PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on first car

Sasuke_Kensai
04-15-2004, 02:22 PM
Hello, I am a car newbie.

I am considering something used, probably $7000 or less.

It would be greatly appreciated if I could get any advice for cars that are:
-cheap on insurance
-reliable
-good gas mileage
-good handling
-somewhat stylish, but not so stylish
-not too high performance, not too low

I was considering a 94 Golf, but I get the impression that their bodies tend to have many breakdowns, and that VWs have some electrical problems.

x-MG-x
04-15-2004, 02:29 PM
Ok so what type of car?
sedan, hatch, wagon or coupe...?
The toyota corolla is a pretty reliable car with a pretty reliable engine.. not too slylish but long lasting! my dad hit 390000 on one! :) if you dont want too low or too high performance then get a 1.3-2.0 liter engine.... well thats just my advice.. i advise the corolla if there is much where you live..

ExtremeSi
04-15-2004, 02:36 PM
Get a Prelude :thumbsup:
HAHAhaha hey Jari. Invading my territory are you?

x-MG-x
04-15-2004, 02:42 PM
Originally posted by ExtremeSi
Get a Prelude :thumbsup:
HAHAhaha hey Jari. Invading my territory are you?

Bro, no offence... but prelude is one of the hardest cars to repair when it comes to engine problems.. hardly any space in the engine bay.. my dad is a mechanic and rejects all preludes because it takes a whole day to fix! well its pretty "comfortable" and its "stylish" and maybe even "quick" but if you want a prelude you need to be mechanically wise for oil changes, keep the engine cool... and as this person says " he is a car newbie"

Sasuke_Kensai
04-15-2004, 02:52 PM
errr, anything but a wagon i guess? ha ha small would be good (hatchback i suppose)

and the above ^^ post is just a joke i think, heh

i was looking at some used toyota tercels, i don't think i've really heard many bad things about toyota?

Forgot to mention, probably looking at years 94-97

x-MG-x
04-15-2004, 02:58 PM