PDA

View Full Version : subie newbie needs help

thrustvector
04-15-2004, 10:38 PM
Hey guys, Im 18 years old and getting ready to buy my first REAL car. Im not a complete idiot when it comes to them, and I find myself growing addicted to cars(and the speed channel). I really like subarus, and i was thinking about a 2.5 RS, ive seen some pretty good deals in the 5-8 thousand range for 98's and the like. Id really like some advice on them,maybe some personal experiences, or just any thoughts you might have. I have some experience with manual trans. and plan to really learn the car before I do anything adventurous. I wanna do it right, maybe you guys could help?:thumbsup:

xDiMSuMx
04-15-2004, 11:13 PM
they only cost 5-8 thousand? :eek:

thrustvector
04-15-2004, 11:24 PM
well, ive seen some with about 50k miles on em, ranging from 5 to 9 thousand dollars (us)

Ducati
04-15-2004, 11:30 PM
With the older 2.2 litre motor probably.

This time last year I worked at a Subaru dealership.
The only Subaru's we ever sold under 10K were old early 90's Legacys and old GL's. Even a 1998 Impreza Brighton with an automatic & 2.2; a real grandmamobile, went for $14K.
Those nice 2.5 RS coupes were still being sold in the mid to high teens. I personally sold two of them.

That.Guy.S30
04-15-2004, 11:32 PM
dont get a 98 rs. they have the phase 1 motors. know for leaks and blowing head gaskets. hopefully go for a 2000 with a phase 2 motor. go on nasioc.com if you need to know more info or 25rs.com

thrustvector
04-15-2004, 11:32 PM
so if a prinate seller was selling it atthat price theres most like something wrong with it?

Ducati
04-15-2004, 11:38 PM
Get anything that looks like it is too good to be true checked out by someone known to be reliable.
Check the compression of the engine and get it up on a hoist to
poke around underneath. If possible, get a vacuum leakdown test, too.
Stick around the shop and watch them work on your prospective car purchase.

thrustvector