PDA

View Full Version : Resume Help Please!

liquid1010
04-19-2004, 05:07 PM
Altright, I'm basically done my degree after this semester... and want to apply to some jobs. My resume however sucks, as I have little in the way of experience. Even the format of the resume is lame. I want something with some creativity, but that isn't overly gaudy. Do you guys/girls have any formats, or know of where I can go. I havn't hit-up the career centre...... but anyone here have any advice as to how to spruce it up?

gkAeris
04-19-2004, 05:08 PM
umm

what about the stuff that comes with MS word, they have like 15 templates to choose from....

liquid1010
04-19-2004, 05:09 PM
I was thinking about that... but it seems to much the same :dunno:

Also, does anyone know how I can make a word document into PDF format?

TrevorK
04-20-2004, 10:14 AM
Originally posted by liquid1010
I was thinking about that... but it seems to much the same :dunno:

Also, does anyone know how I can make a word document into PDF format?

Yes - do not use templates.

As someone who's looked through hundreds of resumes, I'd start rejecting ones that use templates.

ZorroAMG
04-20-2004, 11:11 AM
Yeah the big key when doing a resume is to have it catch the reviewer's eye while remaining professional and suited to the job being applied for. Have some creativity but don't get carried away :)

EK 2.0
04-20-2004, 11:17 AM
and having used to work in H.R. for the Calgary Health Region...I know this advice might be a lil ahead of you right now...but choose your paper wisely...A heavier weight and an off white colour will go a LONG way in the notion of being noticed by anyone looking thru a ton of resumes...

liquid1010
04-20-2004, 03:46 PM
Originally posted by CycloneAWD