PDA

View Full Version : What lane do you turn in?

barmanjay
05-24-2004, 02:54 AM
I've been driving in Calgary for almost 3 years now,..... and I had a cop get real pissed at me for this, obviously off duty,... but yelling and swearing as he passed by.

going east on 17th till you hit Mcleod.
now left turn is 2 lanes
Northbound Mcleod is 4 lanes
I was in the left side turning and went into the center left northbound lane,.... as I've done before following traffic in the past.
The cop was in the right side turn lane.
There are no dotted lines to mark what lane you're supposed to go to.

When I'm ever in the right side turning lane,... I ALWAYS go to the center right lane.

This happened a while ago,... and it's still eating at me,.... I need to know all of your thoughts on this one.

DefektiveVibe
05-24-2004, 03:09 AM
im confused...but what you did sounds about right...cops sometimes dont know the rules of the road either

speedracer
05-24-2004, 03:24 AM
Originally posted by barmanjay

I've been driving in Calgary for almost 3 years now,..... and I had a cop get real pissed at me for this, obviously off duty,... but yelling and swearing as he passed by.

going east on 17th till you hit Mcleod.
now left turn is 2 lanes
Northbound Mcleod is 4 lanes
I was in the left side turning and went into the center left northbound lane,.... as I've done before following traffic in the past.
The cop was in the right side turn lane.
There are no dotted lines to mark what lane you're supposed to go to.

When I'm ever in the right side turning lane,... I ALWAYS go to the center right lane.

This happened a while ago,... and it's still eating at me,.... I need to know all of your thoughts on this one.

Center left? You should be in the the left curb lane (West). I'm guessing you took lane 2 or 3 which is an illegal turn and would be the casue of an accident.

LOL Maybe it's time for refresher course in basic driving for Alberta ... ;)