PDA

View Full Version : 89 Toyota MR2 SC vs 89 Mazda RX-7 turbo

Drsuce
05-29-2004, 08:12 PM
what would you pick? and why... asuming both cars are in fairly good shape, around 100k km on the clock

im refering to jdm cars aswell, so let it be noted that the SC mr2 has 165 HP, not 145 :)

im new to rx-7's though, i love the simplicity of the engines, are they newbie mechanic friendly? how do rx-7's hold up in calgary salty roads? daily drivability?

as far as mods go, i know the jdm mr2 is nearly basicly topped out because of the ecu and sc12 supercharger, how about rx7's?

and is it possible to get that REALLY nice rotary sound w/o having a exhaust that will set off alarms?

and does anyone with a rx7 turbo wanna take me for a spin? :)

BigMass
05-29-2004, 08:29 PM
:thumbsup:
Great choices. Both amazing value for their import prices. I dont think you can go wrong with both, but i do like the MR2 SC.

There is a lot you can do with the MR2 SC. I like the mid engine layout. For power you can upgrade the intercooler and install a pulley that will give you more boost on your SC. With cams, pulleys, intake and a straight pipe exhaust, you can get close to 200hp on the MR2. You can do some weight reduction, suspension work, new wheel and the thing will fly. Imagine 180-200hp on a 2000-2200lb car after the weight reduction.

With the MR2 you wont have to worry about cooking your engine like you would with the rotary. Do you really want to rebuild the engine on a $5000 car?

Both of these cars dont have amazing aftermarket support like their newer counterparts, but custom work like piping is easy to do yourself or have a local shop do it for you.

Personally i can't deny wanting to import an MR2 SC and turn it into an %80 track car and %20 road car. With proper mods the thing will drive like a go cart on steroids.

Drsuce
05-29-2004, 08:40 PM