PDA

View Full Version : Autocross Help *newbie*

Zephyr
06-13-2004, 06:00 PM
I tried out autocross last month with the 5 series... I kept losing traction with my tires, using street tires with the rest of the group that was running street mods. I was wondering what is the correct type of pressure one should use? I'm totally new to this and wanna learn...so any help would be sweet or any other info you feel that i should need to know. I'm planning to maybe go to more solo2 events with this car again or wait till i get another car...

Redlyne_mr2
06-13-2004, 06:24 PM
What size are your tires dude?

Zephyr
06-13-2004, 08:14 PM
Originally posted by Redlyne_mr2
What size are your tires dude?

225 60 15 daytona HR

fast95pony
06-13-2004, 09:34 PM
I normally add more air when autocrossing. Some people mark the sidewall of the tires with white shoe polish or chalk .This way you can see if the tires are scrubbing on the tarmac . I normally set my tires at 40 psi all the way around .
The 5 series is quite a heavy car and those tires are relatively tall and narrow.If you can , go with more performance oriented tires.
It also takes practice,lots of practice .Walk the course with other drivers and ask them what line to take. Go for a drive with the more expirenced drivers, or have them ride along with you.Try a different
line through the corners. Try to be smooth .This is my second year,and I know I have a lot to learn.
Good luck ! :thumbsup:

rage2
06-13-2004, 10:24 PM
Tire pressure is the biggest deal. Marking tires is a good thing if you already have a good suspension setup. Otherwise, camber changes under cornering will roll the tire over to the sidewall regardless of tire pressure.

Zephyr
06-13-2004, 11:09 PM
is there any way to reduce understeer?

hjr
06-13-2004, 11:35 PM
im assuming this, but if the only thing you can adjust is the tire pressure, then what you need to do is make the front sticker relative to the back.