PDA

View Full Version : Everything Below the "D"

js11288
08-23-2004, 10:37 AM
I've been driving for about seven months now and just got my license last month. I never had an official course or anything, I've just been taught by my parents. But, now that I have my own car and a license, I'm curious as to when you're supposed to use "Neutral", "2", and "1" on the Automatic transmission?

driftkingAE86
08-23-2004, 10:50 AM
You don't know that! I'm 14 and I've known that for years.

The N is neutral you cant shift directly into reverse or you'll break the trans
And the 1 and 2 is for pretending you have a manual trans

Gonthro
08-23-2004, 10:51 AM
yeah, 1-2 is essentially useless for normal useage, it just good for launches ect...

403Gemini
08-23-2004, 10:54 AM
lol i only know how to drive standard so i dont even know haha i think its for gettin up hills better or something haha

QuasarCav
08-23-2004, 10:57 AM
"2" is for engine braking on hills or for more power.

1 is for even more engine braking and it holds the shift to 2nd until close to redline.

basically, leave it in D unless you are going down a huge hill and you dont want to overheat your brakess.

js11288
08-23-2004, 02:46 PM
So if I'm going down a really long, steep hill, shift into 2 and brake when needed? Or with it being in 2, I won't have to brake as much? Then when the hill is over, do you just normally shift back to "D"?

Skylinelover
08-23-2004, 02:51 PM
Does it matter can't you just keep it in D all the time

js11288
08-23-2004, 02:52 PM
Yeah, that's what I do, but I was wondering what the 1 and 2 were supposed to be used for.

Skylinelover
08-23-2004, 02:55 PM
Well like other people said they are for steep hills I guess?

QuasarCav
08-23-2004, 03:02 PM
Find your owners manual. Look in the "driving the car" section.

As the explaining will be there, but it's pretty much what I said.

Seanith
08-23-2004, 04:38 PM
Isn't 1 good for ice too since you get more torque from it or something??

GTS Jeff