PDA

View Full Version : Rotary Engines

d-UNiT
09-06-2004, 01:19 PM
look at my profile. yes i am a newb!.. i am willing to admit that.. but i was just wondering.. why people are warning me not to get an old mazda due to the rotary engine.. what makes it so dangerous or less favourable than another kind of car.. i was told that if i got an old one i would have to do constant tune ups .. and i would have problems that sounded like a real turn off.. i was just wondering if any of you could clarify some faqs.. or info about the rotary engine more specifically in an 81-88 rx7.. thanks in advance.. and also.. is it more fuel effiecient?.. cuz fuel economy is very important for me when thinking about a car purchase (student)

Weapon_R
09-06-2004, 01:23 PM
rx-7's are very hard on gas.

The rotary must be cared for, moreso than a regular engine. Too many people neglect this, and the car ends up with some major problems.

pr0
09-06-2004, 01:35 PM
Viper gas consumption :rofl: Extra care for the engine. Not easy to maintain... blah blah :D

Team_Mclaren
09-06-2004, 01:41 PM
from what i've heard is, if u dont know it (rotary) stay away from it! especially the older ones...:dunno:
but then again its a MAZDA!!!:D

Go4Long
09-06-2004, 01:56 PM
81 - 88 RX7? you are spanning two different generations there...up till 85 is the FB/SA22C depending on what continent you are on...86-88 is Series 4 FC, 89-92 is series 5 FC, 93-96 is series 6(or FD if ya prefer).
On boost my FC gets horrible gas mileage...if I drive like a white person however, a tank of gas will last two weeks no problem. despite it being classed as a 1.3 L, keep in mind that rotaries work on a different principle than normal reciprocating engines, and are actually more similar to a 2.6 L in terms of exhaust gasses pushed and what not.

If not properly tuned, or if you boost the hell out of it, you will blow your rotary up, no questions, it'll happen.